RUSSET – RUSSIAN SOCIO-ECONOMIC TRANSITION PANEL

Longitudinal survey of changes in objective and subjective indicators of living conditions in Russian during the transition time (1993-1999)


The RUSSET Panel (Russian socio-economic transition panel) is a unique dataset of longitudinal data to track changes in objective and subjective indicators of standard of living and quality of life in 1990s and to conduct methodological experiments on measurement quality using MTMM and split-ballot design. 

The study was conducted annually from 1993 till 1999 – during the whole period of the most radical changes in the life of Russian society after the break up of Soviet Union. In this time Russia represented the huge natural social laboratory allowing to study the impact of global social changes and transformations on daily life, practices, behavior, aspirations and attitudes of people. It was unique and rare chance for social scientists to witness such global social process developing in very high speed rather than spending decades of observations and experiments. 


The data collection was done by face-to-face interviews PAPI mode in respondent’s homes on probability random sample of Russian population 18 years old and over drawn in 1993 and then included in each round of the survey till 1999. The initial sample size was 3700 respondents. 

IDEA OF THE SURVEY 

The idea of the survey came from the joint research work of V.G. Andreenkov and W. Saris in International MTMM group and their discussion of methods to study social change. 


Most social changes in developed countries of Europe North America happen gradually and slowly compared to life of researchers. Significant shift in social environment, behavior or public attitudes can be traced only after many years or decades of measurement. Radical macro-level changes in political system, economic relations and social structure experienced by Russia in 1990-s created to be unique conditions for researchers to study the impact of changes in objective living conditions and subjective evaluations in relatively short time span, observe the life of people in “high speed mode” as in a movie. Russia serves as a social science laboratory where many experimental research methods and techniques could be applied and checked. In this lucky times for social scientists teams of researchers from Netherlands (Willem Saris, Annette Scherpenzeel, Bernard van Praag, Peter Vriyters, William van der Velt) and Russia (V.G. Andreenkov, A.V. Andreenkova, A.E. Bronnikova, A.V. Fedotov, I.A. Chuslyaeva) took joint efforts to organize the RUSSET. This project was also joined by leading scholars from other European countries interested in this area of research (Jack Billiet, Belgium, Peter Schmidt, Germany, Dagmar Krebs, Germany, Germa Goenders, Spain). 


The project was supported by the Dutch Organization for scientific research (NWO) for conducting seven rounds of this panel study. 

THEORETICAL AND METHODOLOGICAL BACKGROUND

The main idea of the project was to study the impact of socio-economic changes on the change in subjective evaluations of life as a whole (satisfaction with life) and different life domains. 


The survey also intended to check several hypothesis about the relations of the satisfaction with life and objective living condition and hypothesis about the reasons of change in life satisfaction. 


Along with measuring current status (objective living conditions in particular domain) and subjective evaluation (level of satisfaction with a domain) retrospective information on the same parameters was collected for 1988, 5 years prior to the first round of the survey, before major socio-economic reforms). It helped to understand the relationship between objective and subjective indicators and the likelihood of change in stable socio-economic conditions and in time of major social transformations. 


Theoretical model used to study social change in RUSSET:

Another purpose of the project was to understand change in subjective evaluation with life and its domain. For each life domain current level of satisfaction with life was measured, the wish to change the situation, clear view on the direction of change, what should be changed, readiness to take efforts to achieve changes and the confidence that the change can be achieved. We followed the 'need fulfillment theory' or 'the discrepancy theory' which suggests that people get satisfied by fulfillment of their needs or the reduction of the discrepancy between their wishes and the reality (Diener, 1984), but added an action component suggesting that people being unsatisfied with the present situation might try to take action to improve it if they see the specific domain of life as important enough to act [Frijda’s theory of emotions, 1984]. The action component includes the possibility of individual as well as collective action. If no change in living conditions happened, one still can expect changes in the evaluation of the situation - adaptation of the aspirations to the realistically possible options [LaBarbera and Mazursky, 1983, Michalos, 1985 and Saris, 1996]. 


The survey was also designed to check the hypothesis that the level of satisfaction with life as a whole and particular life domains is influenced by the comparisons – with other people (reference group), with ideal (expectations), with the best past experience (retrospective comparison), and with average others (perceived social norm) and perceived level of need and deserved (Andrew and Withey, 1976; Campbell, Converse and Rogers, 1976; Harvey and Smith, 1977). 

METHODOLOGY

RUSSET is a panel survey where the same people were interviewed after particular time interval again. First round of the survey was conducted in 1993 and then interviewers come back to the same people every year seven times till 1999. The sampling design and the fieldwork have been done by the Institute for Comparative Social Research (CESSI, project manager was the senior researcher Dr. Anna Andreenkova).


RUSSET includes two panels. Initial panel was based on the sample of respondents drawn in 1993 and finished in 1999. Because of sample attrition after several rounds substantial part of respondents were lost because of different reasons – migration, deaths, change of health status, refusals. To recover the sample to initial sample size and also to compare parameters between “old” and “new panel” new samples were drawn in 1997 (round 5) on the same sample principles and module as initial sample. Two latest round of the survey (round 6 and round 7) were conducted with both old and new panel. 


Each survey round was administered by face-to-face interviews in respondent’s homes. About 200-300 interviewers participated in each round, about 34-45% changed between modules and the rest was the same across rounds. 

SAMPLE

The sample design for baseline of the survey was done on multistage probability area sample model. Population parameters were estimated according to government statistical information – Goskomstat prediction data for January 1 1992 based on National Census 1989 and sample parameters closely resemble the state statistical data on key socio-demographic and geographic indicators: urbanization, ethnicity, age, gender, education and some others. 


The universe covered the entire population aged 18 and over living permanently in Russian territory. Military bases, penal communities, and other institutionalized population were excluded from the sample. No other exclusions have been done.


Sample stages:
 

  • Stratification of the country into 4 regions combining all socioeconomic zones as used by National Statistical agency. The selection within each region was conducted independently, the number of selected units was proportionate to the population of each region. 

  • Stage 1. The primary sampling units (PSU) - rayons (counties) or cities with rayon status were listed in each of 4 strata (region) from largest to smallest by population size. In each strata PSUs were selected proportionate to population size. Total number of PSUs was 52 units including 8 self-representing units in 2 cities with population size larger than average size of PSU (selection probability=1). 

  • Stage 2. Selection of SSUs (settlements – cities, towns, villages) within each PSU with probability proportional to population size. In total 125 units were selected. 

  • Stage 3. Selection of electoral districts within each settlement with equal probability. 

  • Stage 4. Selection of households. Pre-selection enumeration of households in selected TSUs in larger cities, centralized selection of households (addresses) using random computer procedures. In smaller places and rural areas the selection of households were done during the field by random route method. Each household in the sample was visited at least 3 times to increase the cooperation rate. Visits were planned for different days of the week and for different times of the day. 

  • Stage 5. Random selection of respondent within a household using Kish random tables method. 

SAMPLE IMPLEMENTATION

The sample included all respondents from Round 1 regardless of the results from previous round. The level of cooperation in Round 1 was 76%. In Round 2 the sample decreased by 25%, then to 14% in round 3 and to 2% in round 4. After seven years in the last round of the survey 43% of initial respondents stayed in the sample. 


To compensate this sample attrition, new panel was constructed in 1997. As regional and socio-demographic profile of respondents were similar regardless of the attrition (taking into account the natural move of age groups), new sample was drawn as independent national sample using the same design as initial one. 

Table 1. Survey parameters by rounds

Rounds

Year

Total

Panel 1

Panel 2

Time of interviews

Round 1

1993

3727

3727

Round 2

1994

2808

2808

Round 3

1995

2273

2273

Round 4

1996

2074

2074

July-September  1993

May-June 1994

June-August  1995

March-April 1997

Round 5

1997

2218

2218

Round 6

1998

3513

2002

1511

Round 7

1999

2868

1618

1250

November-December  1997

October-December  1998

November-December  1999

CONTENT, SURVEY QUESTIONS

The questionnaire contains stable core questions asked in the same form for all rounds of the survey (trend questions). Life domains included in the survey: family life, housing conditions, employment, household finances, social contacts, health. For each life domain the survey included: (1) parameters describing objective present situation in first round and description of changes in each domain in further rounds 2) satisfaction with the present situation, (3) intention to take action to change the situation. 


Along with studying substantial issues, the project included many methodological experiments on the perception of answer scales with different characteristics – type of scale, number of scale points, balanced and non-balanced, verbal, graphical and digital, different context, order of answers, middle category, different ways of treatment missing information. 


Several rounds of MTMM (multi-trait-multi-method design) experiments were conducted to study reliability and validity of different questions and scales, in particular questions on satisfaction with life and its domains, ethnocentrism, political anomie – the unique information collected in Russia for the first time. In Round 1 and 2 these methodological experiments included multi-trait multi-method panel experiments, in which groups of questions were repeated within the same round (test-retest). In Rounds 3 and 4 the sample was randomly divided into three subgroups, each subgroup was given a different subset of questions at the end of the questionnaire that were also asked at the beginning of the questionnaire (to all groups). In Rounds 5, 6, and 7 multi-trait multi-method and split ballot experiments were also executed. In these rounds two random samples, named A and B, were used as subgroups for the experiments.

Materials of the survey can be found  HERE

Publications based on RUSSET data
Special issue of the journal “Happiness” was prepared on RUSSET data

more >>

SATISFACTION OR HAPPINESS? From the article of A. Andreenkova, W. Saris 
CENTRAL OFFICE

Moscow 107031, Russia

ul. Bolshaya Dmitrovka, 20/5

+7(495) 629-15-06, 650-55-18, 650-68-92

We will be happy to answer any questions. Please, contact us. 

Galernaya st., 53, 198000, St.-Petersburg, Russia

+7(812) 570-13-82, 320-86-64

spb@cessi.ru

ul. Sovetskaya, 19/2, office 29, Nizhny Novgorod, Russia

8(903) 609-78-03, 8(952) 453-81-31, 8(831) 246-08-00

cessi-nn@yandex.ru

ul. Khreshchatyk, 17, office 23,01001, Kyiv, Ukraine

+380(44) 531-98-61, 278-87-36, 650-68-92

cessi@cessi.com.ua

VACANCIES

ИНТЕРВЬЮЕР

для личных опросов на дому

ИНТЕРВЬЮЕР

для телефонных опросов с использованием CATI

© 2020 Institute for comparative social research CESSI
when using the materials or CESSI data from this website, please clearly identify the this  website as the source

Member of ESOMAR, WAPOR

РУССЕТ – ЛОНГИТЮДНОЕ ИССЛЕДОВАНИЕ УРОВНЯ И КАЧЕСТВА ЖИЗНИ В РОССИИ В 1990-Х

Руссет (RUSSET) – лонгитюдное исследование, целью которого являлось изучение влияния социально-экономических и политических преобразований в жизни страны на субъективные и объективные показатели уровня и качества жизни населения, последствия реформ для уровня и качества жизни людей.

Исследование проводилось ежегодно с 1993 по 1999 годы, то есть затронуло период наиболее радикальных изменений в жизни российского общества после распада Советского Союза. В этот период Россия являлась огромной социальной лабораторией, в рамках которой стало возможно изучение влияние глобальных социальных изменений на ежедневную практику и установки людей. В иных условиях, где преобразования идут медленно и поступательно, на изучение подобных проблем потребовались бы десятилетия.


Сбор эмпирических данных в Руссет осуществлялся методом личного опроса респондентов по месту жительства, отобранных по случайной вероятностной многоступенчатой выборке населения России 18 лет и старше в 1993 году, а затем опрашиваемых каждый год вплоть до 1999 г. Первоначальная выборка 1993 г. составила 3700 человек. 

ИДЕЯ ИССЛЕДОВАНИЯ

Идея исследования родилась в ходе совместной работы В.Г.Андреенкова и У.Сариса (Willem Saris) в Международной методической группе по изучению степени валидности и надежности социальных показателей (MTMM группа). 


Большинство изменений в социальной жизни развитых стран Европы и Северной Америки протекают довольно медленно относительно срока жизни исследователя. Поэтому значительные, радикальные сдвиги в общественном устройстве, поведении и общественном сознании можно увидеть и зафиксировать лишь через много лет. Условия радикальных изменений на макро-уровне – политической системы, экономических отношений, социальной структуры, - в которых находилась Россия в 1990-е годы, стали уникальным временем для исследователей - появилась реальная возможность изучить изменения в объективных обстоятельствах и субъективных оценках, их взаимосвязь в относительно короткий промежуток времени, наблюдать жизнь людей в «ускоренном темпе», как кадры кинофильма. В такое важное, и, можно сказать, счастливое время для ученых, работающих в области социальных наук, коллектив голландских (Willem Saris, Annette Scherpenzeel, William van der Velt, Bernard van Praag, Peter Vriyters) и российских ученых (В.Г. Андреенков, А.В. Андреенкова, А.Е. Бронникова, А.В. Федотов, И.А. Чусляева) начали работу над проектом РУССЕТ. В разработке программы исследования приняли также участие специалисты из Бельгии (Jack Billet), Германии (Peter Schmit, Dagmar Krebs), Испании (Germa Goenders). 


Идея проекта была поддержана Голландским фондом научных исследований (NWO). Грант этого Фонда и был использован на проведение семи волн панельного исследования.

ТЕОРЕТИЧЕСКИЕ И МЕТОДОЛОГИЧЕСКИЕ ОСНОВАНИЯ

Основной задачей исследования было изучение влияния социально-экономических изменений в жизни страны на уровень субъективной оценки жизни в целом (удовлетворенности жизнью) и ее различными сторонами.


Кроме измерения существующего положения дел (объективных условий жизни в конкретной области) и субъективной оценки этих условий (уровне удовлетворенности), была собрана ретроспективная информация об объективных и субъективных условиях жизни в 1988 году, за 5 лет до первой волны исследования, до начала основных социально-экономических реформ. Такие данные позволяют изучить процесс взаимосвязи объективных и субъективных показателей в стабильной социально-экономической системе и в условиях социально-экономических преобразований.


Теоретическая модель, лежащая в основе изучения процесса социальных изменений (изменений в жизни человека) в РУССЕТ:

Важной целью исследования являлось изучение взаимосвязи удовлетворенности жизнью в целом и удовлетворенностью различными аспектами жизни. По каждому аспекту в исследовании задавались вопросы о текущем уровне удовлетворенности этим аспектов, о желании изменить ситуацию, направлении таких изменений, а также готовности предпринять конкретные действия по изменению ситуации и уверенность в возможности достижения поставленных целей. Такой подход основан на «теории удовлетворения потребностей» или «теории расхождения» реальности и потребностей (Diener, 1984), но дополнительно был введен поведенческий компонент активного действия, чтобы проверить гипотез, что неудовлетворение текущией ситуацией ведет к действиям по ее изменению при условии, что этот акспект жизни считается достойным определенных действий [Frijda’s theory of emotions, 1984]. Такой деятельный компонент подразумевает как индивидуальные, так и коллективные действия. Если в результате изменений в условиях жизни не происходит, можно ожидать изменений в субъективной оценке ситации – адаптации ожиданий [LaBarbera and Mazursky, 1983, Michalos, 1985 и Saris, 1996]. 
В исследовании проверялись гипотезы о том, что субъективные оценки жизни формируются под воздействием сравнений – с другими людьми (референтными группами), идеалом (ожиданиями), наилучшим опытом, испытанным на более ранних стадиях жизни (ретроспективные сравнения), со средними показателями по стране (социальными нормами) и субъективным уровнем потребностей и заслуг [Andrew and Withey, 1976; Campbell, Converse and Rogers, 1976; Harvey, Smith, 1977]. 

МЕТОДОЛОГИЯ

Руссет является панельным исследованием, в котором одни и те же люди интервьюируются через определенные интервалы времени. Первая волна исследования была проведена в 1993 году. Затем мы возвращались к тем же людям каждый год в течение семи лет, вплоть до 1999 года. Дизайн выборки и проведение полевых работ были разработаны и проведены Институтом сравнительных социальных исследований (ЦЕССИ) под научным руководством А.В. Андреенковой. 


Руссет включает две панели. Первоначальная панель была начата в 1993 году и закончена в 1999 году. Вследствие осыпания выборки через несколько лет опроса мы потеряли существенную часть респондентов. Для восстановления первоначального размера выборки, а также в целях сравнения характеристик и показателей «старой» панели с новой выборкой, в 1997 году (Волна 5) была построена новая панель опять же на основе национальной выборки населения России 18 и старше. Две последние волны (6 и 7) проводились на основе и новой, и первоначальной. 


Опрос проводился методом личного интервью по месту жительства. В каждой волне исследования участвовали 200-300 интервьюеров, при этом между волнами 34-45% интервьюеров сменялись, остальные были прежними. 

ВЫБОРКА

Исследование проведено на основе многоступенчатой вероятностной территориальной выборки населения России 18 лет и старше. Структура выборки соответствует структуре населения в данных возрастных границах по данным Госкомстата России 1993 года по всем базовым социально-демографическим и географическим показателям: месту проживания (городское/сельское население), национальности, полу, возрасту, образованию и др.


Генеральная совокупность - население страны 18 лет и старше, постоянно проживающее на территории страны. Институциональные образования - воинские части, места заключения, места временного проживания населения (гостиницы, пансионаты, детские дома) не включены в выборку. Других исключений из генеральной совокупности при построении данной выборки не делалось. 
 

Этапы выборки: 


•    Стратификация страны на 4 региона, включающие все социально-экономические зоны страны. Дальнейший отбор проводился независимо внутри каждой страты, при этом количество отобранных единиц пропорциональности населения каждой страты. 


•    Этап 1. Первичные единицы отбора (ПО) – районы и города районного значения, сгруппированы в 4 страты и выстроены по численности населения наибольшего города. В каждой страте отобраны ПО с вероятностью, пропорциональной численности населения ПО, всего 52 единиц, включая 8 самопредставительных единиц в крупных городах с населением, превышающим размер первичной единицы отбора, и поэтому отобранных с вероятностью 1.


•    Этап 2. Отбор вторичных единиц (населенных пунктов) внутри каждой первичной единице отбора с вероятностью пропорциональности численности населения населенного пункта, всего 125 единиц. 


•    Этап 3. Отбор избирательных участков внутри каждого населенного пункта с равной вероятностью.


•    Этап 4. Отбор домохозяйств. Составление списка всех домохозяйств в отобранных избирательных участках в крупных городах. Централизованный компьютерный отбор домохозяйств с помощью процедуры случайного отбора. В небольших городах и сельских районах отбор домохозяйств осуществлялся маршрутным методом. Каждое домохозяйство, попавшее в выборку, посещалось минимум 3 раза. Все контакты осуществлялись в разные дни и разное время суток, чтобы максимизировать вероятность застать респондента. 


•    Этап 5. Случайный отбор респондентов внутри методом Таблиц Киша.

РЕАЛИЗАЦИЯ ВЫБОРКИ

В каждой волне в выборку были включены все респонденты Волны 1 независимо от результата в предыдущие волны исследования (начиная с Волны 3). Уровень кооперации в Волне 1 составил 76%. В Волне 2 выборка сократилась на 25%, затем на 14% в третьей волне и на 2% в Волне 4. В самую последнюю волну через семь лет в выборке остались 43%  респондентов из тех, что приняли участие в первой волне опроса. 
Чтобы компенсировать «осыпание» выборки, в 1997 г. была построена новая панель респондентов. Так как региональный и социально-демографический профиль респондентов во всех волнах, несмотря на осыпание, был схож (при учете естественного движения возрастных групп),  новая выборка была построена как независимая по тому же дизайну, что и первоначальная. 

Таблица 1. Размер выборки в каждую волну исследования

Волна

Год

Всего

Панель 1

Панель 2

Время проведения опроса

Волна 1

1993

3727

3727

Волна 2

1994

2808

2808

Волна 3

1995

2273

2273

Волна 4

1996

2074

2074

июль-сентябрь 1993

май-июнь 1994

июнь-август 1995

март-апрель 1997

Волна 5

1997

2218

2218

Волна 6

1998

3513

2002

1511

Волна 7

1999

2868

1618

1250

ноябрь-декабрь 1997

октябрь-декабрь 1998

ноябрь-декабрь 1999

КОНТЕНТ, ВОПРОСЫ АНКЕТЫ

В анкету включены основные вопросы-ядро анкеты, которые повторялись в каждой волне (трендовые вопросы). Предметом исследования являлись изменения в объективных условиях жизни и субъективной оценки этих условий в разных сферах жизни: семейная жизнь, жилищные условия, трудовая деятельность и образование, материальное положение, социальные связи, здоровье. По каждой сфере жизни задавались вопроса 1) о текущих объективных условиях и изменениях в последующие годы; 2) удовлетворенность текущей ситуацией; 3) желание и готовность предпринять какие-либо действия для изменения ситуации. 


Наряду с изучением содержательных проблем, в рамках исследования были проведены ряд методических экспериментов по восприятию шкал с различной размерностью, сбалансированностью, цифровых, вербальных и графических шкал, влиянию контекста анкеты на ответы респондента, порядка расположения ответов на шкале, наличие средней категории, возможности уйти от ответа и т.п. 


В исследовании проводились несколько экспериментов в MTMM-формате (multi-trait-multi-method design) по изучению надежности и валидности разного типа шкал и вопросов, в частности, вопросов на удовлетворенность, этноцентризм, политическую аномию и др. Эти первые MTMM эксперименты по оценке качества шкал и влиянию метода на данные опросов в России и до сих пор остаются одним из редких источников данных в этой области. В Волне 1 и 2 были включены эксперименты в MTММ панельном формате типа тест-ретест (одинаковые вопросы задалась дважды в рамках одного интервью с определенным временным интервалом). В Волне 3 и 4 эксперименты состояли в изменении ряда характеристик вопросов, задаваемых в начале и в конце интервью (по трем подгруппам респондентов). В Волне 5, 6 и 7 включены эксперименты как MTMM формате, так и с разделением выборок на части.

Вы можете скачать анкеты по Волнам 1-5 на странице БАЗЫ ДАННЫХ, зарегистрировавшись на сайте

ПУБЛИКАЦИИ НА ОСНОВЕ РУССЕТ
По материалам РУССЕТ был подготовлен специальный номер в журнале «Happinness». 

подробнее >>

Удовлетворенность или счастье? из статьи A.Andreenkova, W.Saris на русском языке   
ЦЕНТРАЛЬНЫЙ ОФИС

Москва, 107031, Россия

ул. Большая Дмитровка, д. 20, стр. 1, офис 66 

+7(495) 629-15-06, 650-55-18, 650-68-92

С удовольствием ответим на все ваши вопросы. Напишите нам.

Санкт-Петербург, 198000, ул. Галерная, д. 53

+7(812) 570-13-82, 320-86-64

spb@cessi.ru

Нижний Новгород, ул. Советская, д. 19/2, офис 29

8(903) 609-78-03, 8(952) 453-81-31, 8(831) 246-08-00

cessi-nn@yandex.ru

Киев, 01001, ул. Крещатик, д. 17, офис 23

+380(44) 531-98-61, 278-87-36, 650-68-92

cessi@cessi.com.ua

ВАКАНСИИ

ИНТЕРВЬЮЕР

для личных опросов на дому

ИНТЕРВЬЮЕР

для телефонных опросов с использованием CATI

© 2020 Институт Сравнительных Социальных Исследований «CESSI».
При использовании материалов сайта www.cessi.ru и баз данных CESSI ссылка на источник обязательна
Член ESOMAR, WAPOR